krotsclub.blogg.se

Apple mac g5 soecs
Apple mac g5 soecs











  1. APPLE MAC G5 SOECS INSTALL
  2. APPLE MAC G5 SOECS SERIAL

I was having problems from day 1 (you rally don't want to get me started on this ).

APPLE MAC G5 SOECS INSTALL

I use the OS9 that is placed on the disk from the install disks that came with the Comp of coarse and is bootable from 9. thanks for the offer, but I don't think that's the problem. If you want, I can upload a clean OS 9 image somewhere. Are you using the system folder from your G4 500? Even if I'm mostly wrong, you gotta gimme at least a little love for sticking my neck out here in public, eh? They got it goin' on, it will be in short supply, it's a dual only at the top speed, and Steve Jobs knows enough of his folk will bend over to make it all make sense. And it could easily be more than that once you get it configured. I bet you Mac users hope I'm right! Hey, if I'm right, I'm a likely Mac candidate myself.īUT! I'll wager the dual 2GHZ is not a penny under $4999US. Just speculation, but FWIW, I was nearly dead on about the Athlon's performance before it originally shipped, with no more facts to use than in this case. Add in a faster FSB and more efficient SMP architecture, and you probably have a dual 2GHz G5 spanking a dual Athlon 3000+ pretty badly. That gives the PPC970 2GHz about a 15-20% advantage over the best Wintel can do. The fastest Athlon (3200+) currently runs at 2.25GHz and is more than a match for the P4 3GHz when running a DAW. So at 2GHz, I'd put the PPC970 at about equal to an Athlon at 2.7GHZ. Excuse a little bit of underinformed extrapolation here, but from what I've seen, the PPC970 looks to be 25-40% faster than an Athlon would be at the same clock speed, depending on the app. I think the dual 2GHz G5 will be the fastest desktop computer available, and legitmately for a change, not just in Steve Job's mind on hand picked benchmarks.

apple mac g5 soecs apple mac g5 soecs

Here's a prediction, from the PC moderator no less. Apple never quite got IDE busmastering and UDMA down all the way.

APPLE MAC G5 SOECS SERIAL

Serial ATA drives will also help out as they seem to use less CPU per MB xfered, a Mac weakness on current parallel ATA drives, IMO. So the FSB would be effectively 800MHz for the 1.6GHz, 900MHz for the 1.8GHz, and 1000MHz for the 2.0GHz G5s. FSB speed here is 1/4 of the CPU speed, but it's double data rate so it's effectively 1/2 of the CPU speed. Excellent specs.Īnother reason I'd give these cred is that the FSB is actually tied to the CPU speed in this iteration of the PPC970 architecture, so it is variable based upon the model. Well, I'd say that ought to kick some bigtime booty.













Apple mac g5 soecs